Skip to content
We are MOVING! Special Orders are currently suspended until further notice. In-stock items may experience a delay in shipping of up to 1 week.
We are MOVING! Special Orders suspended. In-stock items may experience shipping delay.

Aretha Franklin - The Electrifying... [LP]

Write a review
Special Order
Original price $22.98 - Original price $22.98
Original price
$22.98 - $22.98
Current price $22.98

Rumble Records presents a reissue of Aretha Franklin's The Electrifying, originally released in 1962. It's a common misconception that the late legend of soul, Aretha Franklin, didn't cut a good record until she got out from under her Columbia Records contract and began recording with the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section (aka The Swampers) for Atlantic Records. While those Atlantic sides are some of the greatest deep Southern soul ever recorded, there's a lot to love about her earlier recordings. Yes, there is much more of a pop R&B vibe to them with swinging arrangements and large horn and string sections but that unique and perfect voice is still there, her piano playing is gorgeous, and there are some serious Northern Soul burners in the bunch. The Electrifying features some of her greatest early tracks, including the Northern Soul classic ''Rough Lover''; this is a great piece of early '60s R&B from the undisputed Queen. - A1. You Made Me Love You
A2. I Told You So
A3. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
A4. Nobody Like You
A5. Exactly Like You
A6. It's So Heartbreakin'
B1. Rough Lover
B2. Blue Holiday
B3. Just For You
B4. That Lucky Old Sun
B5. I Surrender, Dear
B6. Ac-cen t-tchu-ate The Positive

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.