Dusty Springfield - Dusty In Memphis [2LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.

Dusty Springfield, born Mary Isobel Catherine Bernadette O’Brien, was an English pop singer
and record producer whose career extended from the late 1950s to the 1990s. She was given
the nickname ''Dusty'' for playing football with boys as a youngster and was described as
a tomboy. With her distinctive mezzo-soprano sound she was an important singer of blueeyed soul, and at her peak was one of the most successful British female performers, with
6 Top 20 singles on the US Billboard Hot 100 and 16 on the UK Singles Chart from 1963 to
1989. She is a member of the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame and UK Music Hall of Fame. As a
fan of US soul music, she brought many little-known soul singers to the attention of a wider
UK record-buying audience by hosting the first national TV performance of many top-selling
Motown artists beginning in 1965. Although she was never considered a Northern Soul artist
in her own right, her efforts contributed a great deal to the formation of the genre. She was
the first UK singer to top the New Musical Express readers’ poll for Female Singer.
To boost her credibility as a soul artist, she went to Memphis to record Dusty In Memphis,
an album of pop and soul music, with the Atlantic Records production team. Released in
1969, it has been ranked among the greatest albums of all time by Rolling Stone, NME
readers, and in polls by VH1 artists. The album was also awarded a spot in the Grammy® Hall
Of Fame. Despite its recognition, the album did not sell well upon release. After the album
was released, Dusty relocated to America where she experienced a career slump for several
years. However, in collaboration with the Pet Shop Boys, she returned to the Top 10 of the UK
and US charts in 1987 with ''What Have I Done To Deserve This?'' Two Years later she had
two other UK hits on her own with ''Nothing Has Been Proved'' and ''In Private.'' In the mid1990s, owing to the inclusion of ''Son Of A Preacher Man'' on the Pulp Fiction soundtrack,
interest in her early output was revived. As a Cornerstone title, ROG is reissuing this classic
and expanding it to include a second LP of bonus tracks making their debut on vinyl.

Side A
1 Just A Little Lovin’ (Early In the
2 So Much Love
3 Son Of A Preacher Man
4 I Don’t Want To Hear It Anymore
5 Don’t Forget About Me
6 Breakfast In Bed
Side B
1 Just One Smile
2 The Windmills Of Your Mind
3 In The Land Of Make Believe
4 No Easy Way Down
5 I Can’t Make It Alone

Side C: Bonus Tracks
1 What Do You Do When Love Dies
2 Willie & Laura Mae Jones
3 That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)
4 Cherished
5 Goodbye
6 Make It With You
7 Love Shine Down
8 Live Here With You
Side D: Bonus Tracks
1 Natchez Trace
2 All The King’s Horses
3 I’ll Be Faithful
4 Have A Good Life Baby
5 You’ve Got A Friend
6 I Found My Way

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.


Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like