14 Iced Bears - 14 Iced Bears [2LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.
Pickup currently unavailable at AV Gallery

Optic Nerve present an expanded reissue of 14 Iced Bears' self-titled album, originally released in 1988. This reissue includes the full original album and all 12 tracks from their first three EPs. The 14 Iced Bears were formed within a vibrant indie scene in Brighton in 1985 by Robert Sekula and drummer Nick Emery, with a punky, DIY pop ethic that held melody as key and technical expertise as less of an issue. They wrote catchy pop songs and recorded with a ramshackle charm that reflected their passion for sixties garage and psychedelia. Inspired by bands like The Byrds and The Velvet Underground, this set them apart from their C86 (1986) contemporaries. They were spotted at their first gig by ex-Television Personalities bassist Mark Flunder, who decided that he wanted to put out a 14 Iced Bears single on the fledgling Frank Records. Inside was released in late 1986. Upon hearing it, legendary BBC 1 Radio 1 DJ John Peel booked them in for a session. His enthusiasm was evident. He made it one of his sessions of the year and praised each track in turn after playing it. ''Balloon Song'' was featured in the session and the single version which fronted the bands second single, The Importance of Being Frank EP (1987) further consolidated their following. The band toured England and Europe and the press was ecstatic. The late '80s revival of classic guitar-based pop was kind to the Bears, and Sekula's talent at penning catchy, twisted melodies earned them a coveted spot as one of the best of the lot. A third single sealed the deal, the raucous Come Get Me on the seminal indie label Sarah Records (1988). The band went on the release their self-titled debut album in 1988; it was a masterpiece of psychedelic pop that turned a lot of heads with its ambition and skilled songcraft. The album betrayed the influence of sixties psychedelia on the group and became a hit on US college radio. Limited edition double LP, pressed on color vinyl; Gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeves. -
A1. Take It
A2. Holland
A3. Train Song
A4. Moths
A5. Hay Fever
B1. Florence
B2. Spangle
B3. Dust Remains
B4. Cut
B5. Surfacer
C1. Come Get Me
C2. Sure To See
C3. Unhappy Days
C4. If I Said
C5. Miles Away
C6. Balloon Song
D1. Train Song (Different Version)
D2. Lie To Choose
D3. Like A Dolphin
D4. Blue Suit
D5. Cut (Different Version)
D6. Inside

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.

ITEM:wish 009

Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like