Rebekka Karijord & Jon Ekstrand - I Am Greta

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.
Pickup currently unavailable at AV Gallery

First pressing on red vinyl, exclusive for the USA. Unique composer duo Rebekka Karijord and Jon Ekstrand create compelling, hybrid score to intimate portrait of teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg. I Am Greta, the intimate Hulu documentary by Swedish director Nathan Grossman, tells the story of teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg through compelling, never-before-seen-footage. Starting with her one-person school strike for climate action outside the Swedish Parliament, Grossman follows Greta in her rise to prominence. The film culminates with the extraordinary wind-powered voyage across the Atlantic to speak at the UN Climate Action Summit in New York. To musically accompany Greta and the children of the Fridays for Future movement on their journey, composers Rebekka Karijord and Jon Ekstrand spent time searching for the right balance when it comes to how much emotional triggers the music should offer: ''With the music for I Am Greta, we aimed to find a sonic counterpoint to the friction between the shy, contemplative inner world of Greta, and the unbounded energy of the natural world and climate change movement. From the start we found it useful to separate the score into three distinct voices: Greta's Voice, the voice of the natural world, and the voice of the climate change movement. We choose to work with repetition and persistent musical patterns, often illustrated through energetic string arpeggios. This we felt helped underline the remarkable persistence and focus of Greta has on the climate issue, as well as that of the relentless-ness of nature. Then we found a few places throughout the score, where more melodic aspects could be introduced and carry the story through its dramaturgical journey. It allowed the melodic aspects to shine through when they are introduced. The score consists of a string octet, modular synthesizers and a voice instrument built by Rebekka of 25 unique singers sampled in their full range. Our soloist on the soundtrack is the cellist Linnea Olsson, whom has a very specific airy and organic tone.'' ''Rebekka and Jon's dynamic score to I Am Greta is huge and intimate, uplifting and melancholic, and manages to carry the emotional nuance of Greta's story. The score forms a musical parallel to Greta's journey and narrative voice throughout the film. It's energy, urgency and emotional depth reminds us that the time for climate action is now.'' --Nathan Grossman, director. Records made of 100% recycled PVC vinyl. Paper stocks are all made from 100% recycled material. All inks plant based (vegan). No plastic or shrink wrap used in the packaging or production. Pressed at RPM Records in Denmark.
A1. Tic Toc
A2. Fridays For Future
A3. Riksgatan
A4. Depression
A5. Childhood
A6. The Wind
A7. Nervous Feet
A8. Katowice
B1. Fridays for Future (alternative version)
B2. The Movement
B3. Grief
B4. The Ocean
B5. The Arrival
B6. People Are Waking Up
B7. Grief (credits version)

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.


Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like