Alex Bleeker - Heaven On The Faultline [LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.
Pickup currently unavailable at AV Gallery

Real Estate's Alex Bleeker steps out on his own for a first full solo album, taking his music back to his homespun indie-rock roots. Initially recorded in his bedroom before adding finishing touches in the studio, the tracks have a lo-fi warmth akin to Bleeker's American heroes The Feelies and Yo La Tengo. ''I've known Alex Bleeker my entire life. Well, okay, maybe not since I was born, but there's no doubt that I've shared a fair bit of memories with him over the years. We've acted in high school productions of Shakespeare together, gone on late-night diner runs, argued about which Weezer album is the band's best, and swapped mutual appreciation for the music of Yo La Tengo on car rides careening around the snaky suburbia of our hometown. Just like his Real Estate bandmates Martin Courtney and Julian Lynch, we attended high school in the New Jersey enclave of Ridgewood, a place where sticky summer days yielded cool nights with a glow so nocturnal that you can practically hear the fireflies buzzing off of this sentence alone. Indie rock -- a type of music that can easily be made or listened to in someone's garage -- often dominates teenage suburban preoccupations, and both Alex and I were no exception. You can hear this legacy of listening on his new album Heaven On The Faultline, which departs from his last full-band outing as Alex Bleeker and the Freaks, 2015's Country Agenda. Whereas that album had a more full-bodied explicitly folk-y feel, Heaven On The Faultline finds Bleeker getting back to his homespun roots over the course of its 13 songs, from the jangly guitar pop of New Jersey heroes the Feelies and YLT's hushed, acoustic reveries to the open-hearted folk rock that marks so much of the Grateful Dead's early catalog. Written and recorded over the last several years, Heaven On The Faultline's songs were initially recorded straight to GarageBand in Bleeker's bedroom before receiving further studio refinement in co-producer Phil Hartunian's Tropico Beauty space in Los Angeles. With contributions from Confusing Mix of Nations' Josh Da Costa, Cameron Stallones of Sun Araw, singer-songwriter Kacey Johansing, and Parting Lines' Tim Ramsey, Heaven On The Faultline achieves a warm and intimate feel that defines Bleeker's mission for the album.
01. AB Ripoff
02. D Plus
03. Felty Feel
04. Heaven On The Faultline
05. Heavy Tupper
06. LaLaLa
07. Mashed Potatoes
08. Swang
09. Parking Lot
10. Reach For My Brain
11. Tamalpais
12. Twang
13. Lonesome Call

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.


Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like