Alice Phoebe Lou - Paper Castles [LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.

Alice Phoebe Lou's fiercely independent approach to her art has given her creative confidence that shines through in her jazzy and ethereal indie songs, filled with captivating vocals and stripped back music. Born in South Africa and has developed her eclectic and distinctive sound busking on the streets of Berlin, she has caught the ears of a community of music lovers the world over.

She's earned praise from NPR, Rolling Stone, Blackbook and more, and has been previously nominated for Best Female Artist at the German Critics Choice Awards. In addition to relentless global touring, since 2016, she has put on a total of eleven sold-out shows at the Berlin Planetarium (the biggest in Europe)

Paper Castles is Alice's second full-length release, following 2016's Orbit. She has also independently released two EPs, Momentum and Sola, as well as several singles. In 2017, a live version of the song, ''She,'' was released and racked up five million plays on YouTube and was featured in the film Bombshell: The Heady Lamarr Story I executive produced by Susan Sarandon I all before the studio version of the single was even released. Produced by Noah Georgeson, Alice explains that Paper Castles is'' about nostalgia, about growing into a woman, about the pain and beauty of the past, about feeling small and insignificant but finding that to be powerful and beautiful, about acknowledging that childhood is over but bringing some of it with you.''

''Something Holy'' specifically, reflects ''the moment that I managed to get over the main hurdle of my past traumas with sex, with men and with my own deeper understanding of intimacy and what it means to be intimate.''

In support of Paper Castles, Alice will embark on an international tour, including her first ever North American headlining run, kicking off on March 3rd, 2019.

''An artist who has captured my undivided attention: Alice Phoebe Lou ... a singer who feels destined for the stars.'' - Bob Boilen, NPR's All Songs Considered

''It's hard not to fall in love with ALICE PHOEBE LOU's music. Maybe it's a blend of her gentle voice and the soft strum of the guitar mixed with an assortment of other instruments that just have this magical touch that just hits the right spot. Honestly, the Ms. Lou has really outdone herself with her newest LP Orbit - serene, melodic, dreamy tunes that fill you up and take whisk you away. Perfect for those lazy Sunday's -where one turns on a record in the morning and could just leave it on repeat all day-to those sultry summer evenings - sitting with friends while enjoying those last warm rays of sunshine while just appreciating life as it is- Orbit is divine' .... ,wonderful hypnotic piece of folk-pop' Nothingbuthopeandpassion

''Her bright yet subtle songwriting is matched to a honeyed vocal that can't fail to seduce ... our track oft he day' - Clash

1. Little Spark
2. Nostalgia
3. Galaxies
4. Paper Castles
5. Fynbos
6. Something Holy
7. Skin Crawl
8. My Outside
9. New Song
10. Ocean

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.

ITEM:83001 G

Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like