Aloa Input - Mars etc. [LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.
Pickup currently unavailable at AV Gallery

Last time around, they were all about vocal harmonies from NYC to Cape Town and massive
guitars from Portland to Dusseldorf, mixed with clattering beats from Berlin to Detroit, but
now, Munich-based trio Aloa Input leave Earth altogether with their sophomore release,
Mars etc. Dropping just over a year after their 2013 debut Anysome (MORR 125CD/LP),
Mars etc. finds Aloa Input dashing through the better part of recent music history and taking
off for the red planet. Terrestrial life condensed, the album is an experimental study in handson
sonic set theory; both a stunningly wild and unbridled beast and a long-overdue update to
1977's Voyager Golden Records. Florian Kreier (aka Angela Aux, vocals/bass), Cico
Beck (aka Joasihno, live member of Ms. John Soda and The Notwist;
electronics/drums), and Marcus Grassl (guitars/vocals) launch themselves and their
increasingly cosmic network of influences (including world music, krautrock, hip-hop, folk,
and more) into outer space. Opening track ''Far Away Sun'' is all kiddie samples vs. insane
Jel-influenced beats, and while ''Perry'' nods enthusiastically to Mr. Beck Hansen, the
inscrutable ''Vampire,'' based on a Pocket Piano melody, seems to go for a last round on
deserted roads (think Jarmusch). Elsewhere are disguised political statements (''Brother'')
and unhinged doors that swing and float in empty space (''The Door''). ''21st Century Tale,''
a piece emulating Hymie's Basement's similarly titled pop hymn, is probably the most
wide-eyed Aloa track of all time. It's a rather mellow confession of a maniac at first, until it
drowns in a madcap collage of Disney soundscapes. ''Hold On'' is -- like the entire album -- a
bit rough around the edges, more beat-driven, playful, expansive, and deeper, a tribute to
Hunter S. Thompson that flickers like old, beaten VHS tapes, whereas indie anthem
''BlaBla Theory'' is banging enough to send school kids into a frenzy. The band pack a few
all-time favorites (Beck, The Flaming Lips, The Beatles, Eels, Dylan, The Beach
Boys) into a single track (''Mad As Hell''), and then close it out with ''Ruth the Communist.''
To a spectator, shades and field glass at the ready, it would have looked like this: there's a
humming sound inside the rocket-like vehicle, the countdown's over, flames start shooting up,
and there's smoke as well -- but luckily, Aloa Input managed to keep that keyboard-charring
cable fire in check as well. Co-produced and mixed by Olaf Opal. LP includes download
01. Far Away Sun (3:13)
02. Perry (3:15)
03. Vampire Song (3:14)
04. Oh Brother (5:05)
05. The Door (2:14)
06. 21st Century Tale (3:53)
07. Hold On (4:49)
08. BlaBla Theory (3:08)
09. Krk Blues (3:12)
10. Mad As Hell (2:43)
11. Ruth the Communist (3:04)

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.

ITEM:27305 B

Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like