Aloa - Aloa [LP]

This item is temporary out of stock. Contact us for special order options.
Pickup currently unavailable at AV Gallery

Limited edition LP presented on high-quality 180gram heavyweight green vinyl
* Features bonus LP insert with liner notes

Medical Records presents a reissue of one of Germany's most interesting records. The German duo Aloa only made one album in 1982, but it is one of the most peculiar and innovative records of the Neue Deutsche Welle movement. Long out of print, somewhat obscure, and very expensive, this record is due for an official reissue. The duo consisting of Al Kanz and Matthias Brendel both grew up in Kassel, Germany. Though both had different tastes of music, they fused influences and injected them into their own unique blend when they purchased Roland 606 and 808 drum machines plus a Sequential Circuits Prophet 5. After much development and evolution, the Aloa project came to life. The album explores a whole spectrum of textures, moods, and atmospheres. Ranging from dark complex synthed-out tracks to diverse instrumentation-laced almost Krautrock motifs, this album is definitely one of a kind. From the commanding first track ''Weisser Wal'' with it's almost Bryan Ferry style vocals to the atmospheric ''Banane Zitrone'', the twists and turns are endless. This is a very sultry record as well evidenced by the band's constant obsession with sexy women who occupied their time. Definitely will appeal to fans of The Residents, Neue Deutsche Welle, and anything and everything that lives in the outer reaches of synth territory. Sadly the record was overlooked and misunderstood by the press and radio stations alike likely due to it's obvious unorthodox and experimental interpretation of synthpop. Restored and mastered from the original master tapes by Klearlight Studios in Dallas, TX. Features bonus LP insert with liner notes and interview by Dave Segal.

A1 Weisser Wal 3:14
A2 Seltsame Ranken 3:43
A3 Traumfrau 3:00
A4 Himbeereis 4:31
A5 Deutsche Begegnung 4:40
B1 Banane Zitrone 3:55
B2 M_dchen Von Gegen_ber 2:44
B3 Du Machst Es Mir Schwer 2:34
B4 Lebendig Und Vital 2:25
B5 Fremdes Haus 3:16
B6 Flamingos 4:05
B7 Hostessendienst 3:44
B8 Gequatsche 3:06

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.


Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Tuesday through Saturday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 1:00 p.m. PST. Custom ordered parts generally ship within 5 days. We will reach out if there is any reason to expect a longer delay.

Image may not match actual product

We try to be as accurate as possible, but we use a service to get images for the vinyl records we sell. Sometimes, this leads to the image showing a special colored vinyl edition of a record when we only have the standard black vinyl version. If you are looking for a specific color or product version, please contact us to verify before placing your order.

About Us

You may also like