Skip to content

Elvis Presley - Searcher, The

Write a review
| Ask a question
by Legacy
Original price $25.98 - Original price $25.98
Original price
$25.98 - $25.98
Current price $25.98

With this film, filmmaker Thom Zimny (director of several documentaries for Bruce Springsteen) sought to showcase Elvis Presley in a way that few have seen: past the larger-than-life image of The King of Rock and Roll to reveal the man and the artist ''who wanted to heal, to find that thing that was always felt to be missing, and to do it through the music.'' Working closely with Presley's estate, experts on his music and those who knew him best, Elvis Presley: The Searcher offers unprecedented access to Elvis, featuring new interviews with his collaborators, artists inspired by him (Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Emmylou Harris) and never-before-seen photos and footage of Presley at work and at play. The result is an intimate look at a performer countless audiences around the world have heard but only few have truly known.

The film will air on HBO on Saturday, April 14th at 8pm EST. This is a 3.5-hour documentary that will air in 2 parts, back-to-back! This documentary was created with the FULL cooperation of the Elvis Presley Estate and Graceland.

In this spirit, the companion album to Elvis Presley: The Searcher is, in the words of Warren Zanes' liner notes, ''not a Greatest Hits package but a song-by-song, curated portrait of an artist, fallible at times, one who sometimes got tripped up in the marketplace and at others found himself out of touch with his own artistic freedoms, but an artist who very consistently and courageously gave himself to his performances, as if in the giving he might find some missing part of himself.''

The soundtrack to Elvis Presley: The Searcher will be released in 1CD, 2LP and 3CD configurations.

The standard edition (1CD/2LP) features 18 tracks including familiar hit recordings (''Heartbreak Hotel,'' ''Are You Lonesome Tonight?''), powerful vocal performances (''That's All Right,'' ''Tomorrow Is a Long Time,'' ''Trouble/Guitar Man'') and rare outtakes (''Suspicious Minds,'' ''Separate Ways'').

The 3CD deluxe edition, featuring 8'' x 8'' packaging similar to A Boy From Tupelo: The Complete 1953-1955 Recordings and a 40-page book of photos and liner notes, offers an expanded 55-track overview of Elvis' career as well as a bonus disc of additional recordings relevant to the film-including singles that inspired Presley and two original instrumental pieces composed for the documentary by Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready.


1CD & 2LP:

1. Trouble / Guitar Man
2. My Baby Left Me
3. That's All Right
4. Baby Let's Play House
5. Heartbreak Hotel
6. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
7. Hound Dog
8. Crawfish
9. Mona Lisa
10. Milky White Way
11. Like A Baby
12. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
13. It's Now Or Never
14. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
15. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
16. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
17. Hurt (take 5)
18. If I Can Dream

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.