Skip to content

Joan Of Arc - Live In Chicago, 1999 [2LP]

Write a review
| Ask a question
by Epitaph
Original price $24.98 - Original price $24.98
Original price
$24.98 - $24.98
Current price $24.98

Chicago's Joan of Arc blend post-rock's atmospherics and punk's volume and dynamics. Three members came from the emocore band Cap'n Jazz; when that band broke up, the trio wanted to change their musical direction, removing the boundaries and structures of punk and including more experimental elements like tape loops and electronics.

Calling themselves Joan of Arc, the group went on tour with their friends the Promise Ring (who also featured ex-Cap'n Jazz members) in August 1996. After spending the fall of that year writing and recording, the band reemerged in 1997 with A Portable Model of Joan of Arc, their full-length debut. The album continued Joan of Arc's evolution into an equally hard-hitting and progressive outfit that appealed to emo and post-rock fans alike. The following year they returned with How Memory Works, a more clearly stated version of their ambitious style. Joan of Arc rang in 1999 with the release of Live in Chicago 1999. In February 2003, the band returned with So Much Staying Alive and Lovelessness.

A1. It's Easier To Drink On An Empty Stomach Than Eat On A Broken Heart
A2. Who's Afraid Of Elizabeth Taylor?
B1. If It Feels / Good, Do It
B2. Live In Chicago, 1999
B3. (I'm 5 Senses) None Of Them Common
B4. Me (Plural)
C1. I'm Certainly Not Pleased With My Options For The Future
C2. When The Parish School Dismisses And The Children Running Sing
C3. Thanks For Chicago, Mr. James
C4. (In Fact I'm) Pioneering New Emotions
D1. Better De'd Than Read
D2. Sympathy For The Rolling Stones
D3. All Until The Greens Reveal Themselves At Dawn

Please call or message if you are looking for a specific item.